Landscape as a Witness to the Holocaust. Online Debate at POLIN Museum, Warsaw

A tour through the exhibition „Wilhelm Sasnal: Such a Landscape“ by the artist (Polish, with Polish sign language)

The POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews currently hosts a solo exhibition of Wilhelm Sasnal (17 June 2021 – 10 January 2022, https://polin.pl/en/wilhelm-sasnal). „Such a Landscape“ features works completed over the course of the past two decades, on loan from the artist himself, as well as those from public and private collections.

As the titel implies, the show (curated by Adam Szymczyk) revolves around the notion of landscape and its relation to memory – meaning both public/collective commemoration an individual memories. Drawing on visual sources from various media, it is the complicated entanglement of these two realms that Sasnal’s work points to.

On 19 September, 20:00 CET (2:00PM EST / 11:00AM PST / 9:00PM Israel) the museum hosts a debate on „Landscape as a Witness to the Holocaust“ that will be streamed online. Participants will be Tim Cole (Department of History, Bristol University) and Caroline Sturdy Colls (Centre of Archaeology, Staffordshire University, Stoke-on-Trent). The event will be chaired by Roma Sendyka (Research Centre for Memory Cultures, Faculty of Polish Studies, Jagiellonian University, Krakow).

The museum writes: Tim Cole and Caroline Sturdy Colls „will consider Holocaust necro-geographies, discussing landscapes as actors partaking in the creation of the ‚crime scene,‘ as rich archives of the mass-murder revealing information to forensic archaeologists; and as cultural objects mediating memory and contributing to production of heritage. Can landscapes tell us today the story of Holocaust ‚manhunts‘?“

More info:
https://polin.pl/en/event/debate-landscape-witness-holocaust


Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.